top of page

Week 3 Blog

During this week, we as a team began to prepare for our pitch presentations to present to our lecturer. Each of us had to envision the way we believe this film will go in our designated roles which was a little challenging considering our script was still a work in progress. Our former director was out of the country which made things a lot more complicated, as our Cinematographer who was also writing the script, had to put together the directors slides as well. On my side, I was in charge of putting together the editing slides and giving my vision on the type of cuts I plan on using as well as why I think those specific type of cuts need to be used, as well as colour palette and pace of the film. When putting my slides together I had done research on previous successful dark comedy films such as '50/50' and 'Silver Linings Playbook' to see how they incorporate the mix of both genres in their pacing, music, and cuts. Since the script was not completed at the time, I decided to talk on specific scenes that I had an idea on such as the drunken scene, where I discussed how it would have dark to medium colours to indicate seriousness at the start, and cutting on action to give the audience a better perspective of his struggles and depression. I also discussed using jump cuts in of multiple angles for when he is making phone calls to his loved ones trying to piss them off, the reason for using jump cuts is to give the audience a sense of his struggle and frustration in the situation. These are some of the aspects that I discussed in our class presentation, and now as a group we need to meet more often to make sure we are all on the same page and evolve in our ideas at the same time as the script is evolving. The coming two weeks are going to be extremely crucial to the success of our short film and I look forward to rising to the challenge.


RECENT POST
bottom of page