top of page

T-5 Week 1 & 2 blog

Entering this trimester I had very high expectations for myself and team after having won the award for best studio film in the previous trimester, I felt extreme motivation to replicate that achievement and be a part of another meaningful film. During our first class we were informed that we would not be able to choose our own groups which I was fine with. I then found myself being grouped with a fantastic team who are all very capable at their desired roles as well as hard working. As soon as our teams were assigned, we began the process of coming up with short film ideas as a team and seeing what intrigues us the most. Our director Soroush had written a script over the break and was eager to pitch his story to our lecturer and group and see if it would work. However unfortunately there was not enough conflict in his story as well as it not being Dubai/UAE centric. Following our class we had made a whatsapp group where we all would pitch our ideas and see what options we have to bring into our next class. After a few discussions on whatsapp we came into the following weeks class having ideas from our director Soroush and our cinematographer George. They both pitched their ideas to the group in class in further detail and after discussing with out lecturer, we had decided to go with Georges story about a man who is depressed and looking to commit suicide, however finds out that there are a certain set of rules he must comply to before being able to end his life. The genre of this film is a comedy/drama. From there we were told to put together a pitch presentation of how we believe the film will go in terms of the vision for the director, cinematographer, editor, as well as how the producer envisions raising a budget and the ways in which we can do so. For myself as the editor, it was difficult for me to prepare slides for this specific film because I have not yet read any script as it is still being written. So it terms of cuts and pace, I could only gauge from what I think the film will look like and not from an actual script or synopsis. However, I was able to put together slides in terms of pacing and cuts in regards to one particular scene which I am briefly familiar with, however not certain until the script is complete. I also put together a slide on the colour palette for the film where I will be looking to use medium to darker colours to indicate a sense of seriousness at the start and will gradually move towards warmer colours to indicate the comedic side of the film. We will be presenting tomorrow to our lecturer and I look forward to getting feedback and implementing what is told, and going from there.


RECENT POST
bottom of page